From the Dashboard, after logging in, click on Messages / Queues in the bottom left corner. You will then have the following options, both in the main part of the window and along the left-hand side:
- View message log [All Messages] This will display the list of all messages that SecurityGateway has processed, with the date received, From and To address, the subject of the message, whether it was delivered successfully or restricted, the reason it was restricted if applicable, and the message-score. More information on reviewing the message log can be found in the corresponding knowledge-base article referenced below.
- View user quarantine [Quarantined (User)] This will display messages that SecurityGateway has quarantined for review, due to potentially scoring too high after being processed, for example. These messages can be reviewed by the recipient themselves, if the server is set to allow users to review their quarantine folder.
- View administrative quarantine [Quarantined (Admin)] This will display messages that SecurityGateway has quarantined for threats that require an administrative account to review, and therefore will not be displayed in the recipient’s personal quarantine folder, such as messages that are considered infected with a virus.
- View messages queued for delivery [Queued for Delivery] This will display messages that are waiting to be sent onto another server, either a domain mail server for a local user, or to another domain for remote addresses, but were not able to be delivered during the first attempt.
- View bad messages [Bad Messages] This will display messages that SecurityGateway accepted but was not able to deliver, such as those exceeding the number of hops.
Once you have clicked on one of the above options, you will see the list of messages belonging to it, sorted by received date, the From address, the recipient address, the subject, and for quarantined messages the reason why it was put into that quarantine queue.
Along the top of the list will be a number of buttons to help you review and process the messages. The following are available in all views:
- Refresh, which will reload the list of messages and display any new ones that arrived since you viewed the list.
- Search, which will bring up the Search/Filter window and allow you to search for specific messages(s) matching certain criteria, such as date received, recipient, and such.
- View, which will bring up a window with the contents of the selected message for review.
The following are only available for the Quarantined (User) lists and the Quarantined (Admin) views:
- Release, which will send the selected message(s) onto the recipient(s) that it is bound for.
- Delete, which will delete the selected message(s) completely.
- Delete All, which will delete all messages in the selected list.
The following are only available in the Queued for Delivery and Bad Messages views:
- Bounce, which will send a message to the sender indicating that the selected message(s) could not be delivered, to potentially steer malicious users from sending again.
- Retry Delivery, which will attempt to send the selected message(s) onto the recipient(s) again.
- Retry All, which will attempt to send all messages in the current queue along to their respective recipients again.
The following is only available in the Queued for Delivery view:
- Stop Delivery, which will stop the selected message(s) completely from being attempted to be sent to the recipient.
The following is only available in the Bad Messages view:
- Delete, which will permanently remove a message from the Bad Messages queue.
Domain administrators can view all mail associated with their domain, while global administrators can view all email messages currently being stored.